American Academy of Periodontology Celebrates 2022 Award Winners

Posted: January 18, 2023
Edited by Dentaltown staff

CHICAGO—On Friday, Oct. 28., 2022, AAP award recipients were celebrated at a ceremony during the Academy’s 108th Annual Meeting in Phoenix.

Each year, the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) honors members whose service, dedication, and accomplishments have made a significant impact on the field of periodontics. Whether it was through extensive research, teaching, or writing various publications, these members put in the extra work that allowed them to stand out for special recognition.

In 2022, the Academy was pleased to present its highest honor – the Gold Medal – to Dr. Brian Mealey. Dr. Mealey is a Clinical Professor of the Specialist Division in the Department of Periodontics at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry as well as the editor and co-author of two textbooks.

The 2022 winner of the Master Clinician award sponsored by HuFriedyGroup was Dr. Richard Kao, a renowned clinician in the field of tissue regeneration. This award honors an Academy member who has practiced and demonstrated consistent clinical excellence in periodontics and who has willingly and unselfishly shared that clinical experience with members of the profession. Over the past three decades, Dr. Kao has contributed to numerous Academy activities, including serving as an AAP President from 2018-2019 and working tirelessly for advancement in the field of tissue engineering.

The recipient of the Academy’s 2022 Distinguished Scientist Award sponsored by Crest + Oral B was Dr. Gustavo Avila-Ortiz. Dr. Avila-Ortiz’s success goes back to his days as a dental student, when he received the Pierre Fauchard International Academy Award as the Distinguished Best Predoctoral Dental Student. Since then, he has published over 100 papers in peer-reviewed journals, co-authored numerous textbook chapters, and published his own textbook.

The 2022 Distinguished Service Award recipient was Dr. Bryan J. Frantz. Dr. Frantz trained at the University of Rochester under his mentor and role model Dr. Jack Caton, who instilled in him to always give back to his chosen specialty. During his time at Rochester, Dr. Frantz performed research and published in the Journal of Periodontology shortly after finishing his residency. He served as AAP President from 2019-2020, as well as other leadership roles.

The Award recipient for 2022 Outstanding Periodontal Educator sponsored by the American Academy of Periodontology was Dr. Gian Pietro Schincaglia. Dr. Schincaglia has been in practice as a periodontist since 1993. At UConn Health, Dr. Schincaglia secured multiple grants for clinical research, served on many advisory committees for master’s theses, and uplifted the morale of the entire department.

The Academy was pleased to bestow an honorary membership to Dr. Anton Sculean. Dr. Sculean is a professor and chairman of the Department of Periodontology and the current head of the Dental Research Center (DRC) of the School of Dental Medicine, University of Bern, Switzerland. He has authored over 460 articles in peer-reviewed journals, 30 chapters in periodontal textbooks, and has delivered more than 500 lectures at national and international meetings. He is Editor in Chief of Periodontology 2000.

The H. Dalton Conner Humanitarian Award is presented to an Academy member who has given selflessly through extraordinary actions that benefit a deserving population. The 2022 recipient of this honor was Dr. Theresa Cheng. With over a decade’s effort, Dr. Cheng volunteered for, founded, and established Everyone for Veterans (E4V) – a non-profit organization devoted to improving the quality of life of veterans by connecting them to services and goods in their communities – to help low-income veterans get life-changing dental care and more.

Funded by the American Academy of Periodontology Foundation, this R. Earl Robinson Regeneration award recognized an outstanding recent scientific article about periodontal regeneration in the basic and clinical sciences. For their article, “The effect of timing of orthodontic therapy on the outcomes of regenerative periodontal surgery in patients with stage IV periodontitis: A multicenter randomized trial,” the Academy recognized Drs. Karin Jepsen, Eric Kutschera, Andreas Jäger, Lorena Gaveglio, Conchita Martin, Søren Jepsen, Christina Tietmann, Peter Wüllenweber, Daniele Cardaropoli, Ignacio Sanz Sanchez, and Rolf Fimmers.

Sponsored by Quintessence Publishing, the Clinical Research award recognized an outstanding recent scientific article with direct clinical reference to periodontics. For their article, “Human variation in gingival inflammation,” the Academy recognized Jeffrey S. McLean, Shatha O Bamashmous, Kristopher A Kerns, Camille Zenobia, Harsh M Trived, Richard P. Darveau, Georgios A Kotsakis, Brian G Leroux, and Dandan Chen.

For more information about American Academy of Periodontology, visit

Townie Perks
Townie® Poll
Does your practice screen for sleep apnea?
Sally Gross, Member Services Specialist
Phone: +1-480-445-9710
©2023 Dentaltown, a division of Farran Media • All Rights Reserved
9633 S. 48th Street Suite 200 • Phoenix, AZ 85044 • Phone:+1-480-598-0001 • Fax:+1-480-598-3450